Interview with the Vampire

So I’ve always been a huge Anne Rice fan. I read her vampire series when I was a high school kid back in the 80’s. And while I was not a fan of the 90’s film based on the books, I am a huge fan of the current AMC TV show. I think it captures the original spirit of the books, while offering quality updates that bring the story into a modern socio/politico focus. But more importantly, I’ve developed a serious fan fiction crush on Daniel Malloy as a result of the show. I mean, come on, am I the only one who wants to seriously fuck that cranky old man?

The choice to make Daniel an old dude was genius. In the books, he’s just a boy that doesn’t really become a character until he becomes a vampire. And then he’s Armand’s lover…and then he’s crazy. The trajectory is kind of one dimensional. But the Daniel in the show really moves the plot, and I think has the potential to be a much more interesting character. Who knows if they are still going to turn him into a geriatric vampire? I think the potential for a Daniel/Armand thing still exists, and could actually be quite stimulating. The dynamic of an old vampire with an old human oddly turns me on. Vampire lovers are largely portrayed as young things, but it makes more sense that they might be attracted to an older, more wiser individual, as they themselves have seen quite a lot in the name of experience.

So in advance of Season 2, I’m totally shipping old Daniel and hot, young looking Armand. I think the writers could produce a very nice slow burn romance here, with lots of heavy stares and tempered touches, culminating in a juicy kiss. I don’t really need to see Eric Bogosian naked to get a rouse out of this. He can pull it off by simply using his lovely eyes and sarcastic tone of voice. But there’s definitely potential for fantasy here.

Leave a comment